Joined Google :-D

Hello people! I haven’t really blogged in quite some time, and I kind-of feel guilty about it :-). Truth is, I have been busy starting a new job/life at Google, as a Software Engineer at the Hyderabad office. I joined the Google Apps for Work team, and I work on the analytics part of things. I was pretty swamped with setting things up, getting the formalities done, finding a place to live, blah blah – Basically learning to be an adult! Things have finally settled down now, and I have (I think) found my groove when it comes to my overall routine – so I will probably start blogging as usual in the coming weeks.

To answer the obvious question, life at Google is …well…pretty awesome. Let me write out some points about my experience at the company thats supposed to be one of the best employers in the world. And as per my usual style, they will be bullet points, since putting down a coherent/easy-flowing train of thoughts is just beyond my abilities as a writer.

I. The cool work culture!! I don’t know how many other companies do this (since this is my first real job) but its definitely not all of them. Google doesn’t just talk about an open workspace, it does follow it. My team lead engineer sits on a desk thats exactly like the one I use (except for a lot of Swag he has that I don’t), and I can just go drop by if I have any doubts/issues regarding pretty much anything (even non work related). If my mentor needs to talk to me, he will just come by and sit on a bean-bag lying around my desk and discuss things like a friend at college. You literally won’t be able to tell Tech-levels of people at Google, and thats something I feel is really nice about the office culture.

II. Getting intimidated by the people and the technology. This is a big one. I don’t think I have ever felt so…small…in front of people around me, anytime before in my life. To put it honestly, I felt like an idiot around my team for the first week or two. Not because they acted in any such way – in fact I had to stalk them online to know more about them – but because all of them are basically smartasses. And the other aspect is obviously that you get overwhelmed by the internal infrastructure at a company like Google. Its just so vast and there are so many parts and bits and pieces working together, that its difficult to wrap your head around all of them at first. Its all humbling.

III. The perks!! I don’t really think I need to explain this one (since its covered extensively in articles online). We at Hyderabad don’t have the perks that Mountain View does, but its still pretty darn amazing. Free transport, Bunker rooms, Free food (Oh the damn awesome food :-D), Microkitchens, Games rooms on all floors, Amazing gym, Massage centre, Free internet at home, Matching your charity (if you do any), Techstop for chargers and stuff…the list goes on. Who knows, once we have the campus, the list might expand even further!

Trust me, I know I sound like a freaking fanboy throughout the post. But well… I am barely one year out of my college term, and this is pretty much paradise for a luxury-loving dork like me. I hope to have a great life here at Google, and justify the whole process by making as much of an impact as I can. Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Joined Google :-D

Leave a Reply

